Skip to content

They’re Making My Movie! – “He’s Not Looking So Great” – Part 1

June 8, 2013

Clapboard1I’ve never been afraid of trying something new. Scratch that. I’m OFTEN afraid of trying something new, but I do it anyway. Sometimes I stumble. Sometimes I soar. I simultaneously love and hate that uneasy feeling I get when I’m reaching outside my comfort zone.

Last spring, I spent a lot of time feeling that way. I woke up with an idea for a humorous horror story–a zom-com. And as I lay in bed, reluctant to unsnuggle from the covers, I realized that this idea wasn’t going to be a short story or a novel; it was going to be a movie.

The whole story unfolded in my brain shot by shot, all the way to the end credit sequence. I got up, and still in my pajamas, I wrote the entire script in two hours. It’s called “He’s Not Looking So Great” and it’s about a guy who breaks up with his girlfriend in the middle of the Zombie Apocalypse because she’s put on a couple of pounds and had a little too much trouble squeezing through a window during their most recent escape from the shambling hoards.

I don’t write comedy (that’s my husband Jeff Strand’s job) and I’d never written a script. This was both. I posted on Facebook about my little writing detour, and a director friend of mine, the fantastic Gregory K. Kurczynski, asked me to send it to him. I told him I would–after I revised it. (I actually had to look up proper script formatting, and of course fix everything that seemed brilliant at six in the morning.)

Life ensnared me, and I finally finished those revisions in January and sent them to Greg. To my shock, he said he’d been searching for his next short film project, and he wanted to do my script!

“He’s Not Looking So Great” is scheduled to shoot in July, but the FX have been in process since March, courtesy of the amazing RJ Sevin. How cool is this zombie? Zombie 2013-05-16

Greg has been fantastic. He’s worked with me on script revisions, shared casting pics and videos, and even sent me photos of the locations he’s chosen. Here are a couple of shots from the location scouting expedition:

Exterior1 Interior1

And now, as the World Horror Convention looms near, Greg has done something even more wonderful. He has scheduled a table read of the script while I’m in New Orleans for the convention. He’s bringing the four main actors together Wednesday afternoon and I’m going to get to hear words that I wrote come out of complete strangers’ mouths. I’m beyond excited.

Score one for stretching outside your comfort zone!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2013 1:09 pm

    Congratulations!!!! I am soooo happy for you. You deserve this.

  2. lexacain permalink
    June 12, 2013 8:16 pm

    This is awesome! It’s amazing you pictured it as a movie right from the beginning. I’m so happy you’ll get to see your idea become real. Congrats! 🙂

  3. August 13, 2014 9:37 am

    Great blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring
    writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so
    many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..

    Any ideas? Bless you!

Trackbacks

  1. WHC 2013 NOLA Con Report | From The Underground - Lynne Hansen's Official Website

Leave a Reply

