Skip to content

Road Trip Wednesday – The Music of My Manuscripts

April 27, 2011

“If your WIP or favorite book were music, what song(s) would it be?” That’s the topic of this week’s Road Trip Wednesday at YA Highway.  This topic is way to easy for me, so even though I’m still prepping for tomorrow’s World Horror Convention in Austin, I had to take the time to answer.

The song that inspired my first work in progress is “Give Me Novacaine” by Green Day. The book is a young adult zombie novel, and my main character Tess feels very disconnected from the privileged world she lives in. I create playlists for each one of my characters, so I thought I’d share some of the other songs playing on Tess’s ipod right now:

“Give Me Novacaine” by Green Day

“Lithium” by Evanescence

“Fade Away” by Breaking Benjamin

“Is Anyone Here Alive?” by Kill Hannah

“Suffocate” by Green Day

“Somewhere I Belong” by Linkin Park

“Contagious” by Trapt

“Over and Over” by Three Days Grace

“Strawberry Gashes” by Jack Off Jill

“Monster by” Meg & Dia

“All Is Numb” by 32 Leaves

“Everything Is Alright” by Motion City Soundtrack

“Home” by Kill Hannah

“Virgin State of Mind” by K’s Choice

“Numb” by The Cure

My other work in progress is a middle grade ghost story set in a haunted historic theatre, and the song for it would have to be “The Edge of Darkness” by Nox Arcana. Their CD Theater of Illusion could be a straight-up soundtrack for the book. Creepy and atmospheric, and even a little grand theatre organ. Gorgeous.

So what would the song be for your work in progress? Or if you’re a reader, what about a song for your favorite book?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 10:25 am

    Wow. I only know about a quarter of those songs, but even from that much I can definitely feel Tess’ angst about being misunderstood/not fitting in. Great job!

  2. April 27, 2011 1:45 pm

    I don’t know all of these, but from the ones I do know, Tess and I would get along. Unless she’s a zombie.

  3. April 27, 2011 5:47 pm

    Great ones!

Leave a Reply

