Skip to content

Road Trip Wednesday – The Story Of My Best Scar

April 13, 2011

I was somewhere I didn’t belong, in a place where I didn’t know the rules, and I was rewarded with the best scar of my life. This is the story of that scar, thanks to Road Trip Wednesday at YA Highway. This week’s question: “What is the story behind your best scar?”

Believe it or not, there was a time when I didn’t have blue hair, Green Day wasn’t my favorite band, and I had no idea how survive in a pit. (I know, weird, right?) An editor had expressed some interest in a young adult mystery series set in a teen nightclub, and decided I needed some hands-on research for the sample chapters. My friend Sally and I went to a teen night at a local punk club. We observed from the bar. We thought we were safe.

We were not.

The loud, joyously sloppy music of the second band broke the pit into chaos. A kid in a Casualties t-shirt careened through the pit, his arm locked around the neck of a wiry kid with a shaved head. The guys on the edge of the fray knew to clear the way for them. So did the fifteen-year-old girls in front of us.

We did not.

The guys slammed into us and I took a steel-toed boot to the knee. The kid in the Casualties t-shirt sprawled onto the floor. I knew he’d come away with a crushed hand, all bloody and mangled and ready to punch someone out over it.

Then something amazing happened. A sea of hands surged to help the guy up, including the kid with the shaved head. Because punk rock is a community and nobody lets anybody get trampled in the pit.

My left knee swelled up about twice its normal size. I limped home. I took notes. I wrote a book. And I fell in love with punk rock.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 10:08 pm

    This is fab.

Leave a Reply

