Skip to content

Necro and the Zombie Nation: St. Pete Book Launch Party

October 22, 2010
Zombie Nation: St. Pete Premiere Party

Busy pre-Halloween weekend! I’m at the Necronomicon Convention in St. Petersburg, Florida for most of it, but I get to duck out for the Zombie Nation: St. Pete Book Launch Party at the Pier from 5:00 to 8:00 on Saturday evening. (10/23/10)

I’m tickled about my Necro appearance because not only do I get to talk about young adult fiction on “What’s Next After Harry, Percy, Artemis, and Lemony Snicket?” at 10:00 am Saturday, but I also get to talk about “Zombies as the New Vampires” at 11:00 am, and man, can I talk about zombies!  Then at 12:00 pm, it’s all about “Using Ghosts, Angels, & Demons in Fiction.”

Then it’s off to the Zombie Nation: St. Pete Book Launch Party at 5:00 where many of the authors will be autographing the first official copies of the book. My story is called “Dead Memories” and it’s about a 13-year-old girl who is trapped in a nursing home with her Alzheimer’s-afflicted grandmother during the zombie apocalypse. (Think zombies with walkers.) Full details here. And it also features one of my favorite soft ice cream stands and a St. Pete institution, the Dairy Inn. (The ice cream related research I did for the story deserves a post on its own, so keep an eye out for that one later.)

RisenOh, and there’s one place I won’t be in person, but will be on video. On Saturday at 1:00, Gregory Kurczynski’s short film “Risen” will be a featured selection at the Reel Terror Film Festival in Tampa, Florida, and I got to play a zombie rights advocate in it.  Too terribly cool.

Hope to see lots of folks out and about this weekend for a ton of zombie-themed fun!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    January 2, 2011 10:42 pm

    “Dead Memories” was a fantastic and very creepy read! Zombies with wheelchairs and walkers could easily have turned slapstick, but your descriptive feel for the surroundings was (un)dead on and kept the story from swerving into silliness.

    The two stories I’ve read were a great return on my small investment (caught it while it was still on sale.) Thanks for the heads-up!

Leave a Reply

