Skip to content

Razor Girl vs Life as We Knew It

April 24, 2009

My hubby Jeff Strand is attending the RT Booklovers Convention, so I’m hunkering down in a condo nearby with the intent of writing my butt off for a few days.  Before I got to work on the novel, I had to finish up the handouts for my “New Media and Social Networks for Writers” and “Writing Young Adult Fiction” workshops I’m giving at the Colorado Romance Writers conference next week.  

While compiling and updating resources, I came across this incredibly comprehensive book review comparing one of my favorite apocalyptic novels, Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer,

with Razor Girl by Marianne Mancusi. 

 Click here to read the review.

I don’t usually read reviews, and when I do, I can’t remember the last time a review made me want to read a book, but this one definitely made me want to read Razor Girl.  Any book that features, “a 400 mile road trip through the zombie-infested US Southeast” is aces in my book.

And I really like the way the reviewer pointed out that the plausibility of the post-apocalyptic worlds each author portrays isn’t really the point.  To me, when you dip into any kind of dark fantasy or alternate world, it’s all about creating that willing suspension of disbelief, getting readers to connect emotionally with the characters, while still keeping the story moving forward. Razor Girl sounds like it has the potential to do it well, so I’m really looking forward to reading it.  As luck would have it, Marianne Mancusi is actually a guest at the RT Booklovers Convention, so I hope to pick it up at the big booksigning Saturday.

So has anyone else read Razor Girl or Life As We Knew It?  Share what you thought of them in the comments, but no spoilers, ‘kay?

Susan Beth Pfeffer’s Website

Marianne Mancusi’s Website (Includes Razor Girl)

Marianne Mancusi’s YA Website

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

