Skip to content

Mutant Crickets

October 14, 2008

Well, I think it’s time I send those mutant crickets scurrying through the silence of my would-be blog presence. My last post had me spewing excitement over getting to see the Foxboro Hot Tubs in New Orleans in May.  Well, I did get to see the Tubbies, and it was a mind-blowingly amazing experience. (More about that in a future post–I promise.)  We stayed in New Orleans an extra day and tooled around the French Quarter before heading leisurely back home to Tampa.  We drove all night, pulling into our drive as they sky grayed and dawn threatened.  We staggered to bed, but only managed a few hours when my brother called from Daytona. My dad, who had been very ill for 2.5 years after a bad accident, had taken a downturn.  By nine o’clock that night, he’d passed away.  It’s been kind of tough ever since.

All that being said, things have calmed down significantly, and I’m terribly excited by some of the projects and events I’ve got on the horizon.  In September, I read from my novel The Return and gave an origami workshop at Deep Carnivale: A Celebration of Words in Ybor City.  Last weekend I headed over to St. Petersburg to be a guest at Necronomicon, a convention for fantasy, science fiction, and horror fans. 

This coming weekend, I’ll be at the Carrollwood Barnes & Noble in Tampa for one of my favorite annual events–B&N’s Educator’s Night.  I always get to meet tons of super teachers and home-school educators, and Nan Barbara, the community relations manager there, puts on a super event.  There will be special discounts, give-aways, prize drawings, delicious munchies, and appearances by children’s and young adult authors, including me!  I’ll be there from 6:00pm to 9:00 pm.  Hope you pop by and say hi!

That’s all for now. I promise to keep blogging enough to keep those mutant crickets at bay.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

