Skip to content

My Queen Mary Ghosts

August 22, 2007

queenmary.jpgOn March 12, 2005, my novel The Change was up for an EPPIE.  The awards ceremony was held on the Queen Mary.  Commissioned in 1936, the ship is supposed to be haunted, and the horror writer in me couldn’t wait to see a ghost or two.

During the ceremony, my friend and co-author Sally Bosco and I presented the award for Best Action Adventure Novel.  We did a little skit where we faked an argument and then launched into a fistfight that ended with me pushing Sally on the floor.  (All perfectly choreographed and nobody got hurt, I promise!)

Well, the ghosts on the Queen Mary didn’t seem to like our act. As our argument got more intense, spirit orbs started to gather.  Here’s one of the first, on Sally’s chin.

Note: You can click on each picture below for a high-res version.

sallychinorb2.jpg

The argument turned into a fake fistfight, and it ended with me pushing Sally on the floor.  You can see her boot sticking out behind the podium.  You can also see about 15 spirit orbs all around us. 

lotsoforbshighres.jpg

Here I’ve circled the orbs in yellow, so look inside the circles for them. (The yellow lines are not orbs.)

armorbs2.jpg

When we were done with our skit, we walked off the stage.  Four of the orbs seemed to follow us.

trippingorb2.jpg

There were three stairs coming down from the stage.  I had a long gown on so I was very careful on the stairs.  I had both feet on the second step when all of a sudden my knees locked and I flew forward onto the floor.  I landed on my hands and knees.  It was almost as if someone had kicked the back of my knees. 

There were three stairs coming down from the stage.  I had a long gown on so I was very careful on the stairs.  I had both feet on the second step when all of a sudden my knees locked and I flew forward onto the floor.  I landed on my hands and knees.  It was almost as if someone had kicked the back of my knees.

I continued taking photos during the ceremony and several have spirit orbs, but none had nearly as many as the photos above.  There was one more absolutely spectacular photo, though.  As the winners for Best Anthology were getting their amulets on stage, I took this photo.  No circles or arrows needed to see this one!

hiresmargaret.jpg

The folks above are Lee Emory, Jeff Strand, Robert Hecker, and Margaret Carter.  Here’s an enlarged version with Margaret and the orb.

margartefaceorbzoom.jpg

And here’s a close-up of just the orb. You can see half a face on the left, and a multi-layered glowing membrane around the orb.

orbonly.jpg

Since I had a digital camera with a small screen, I couldn’t tell at the time that I had anything special on my camera.  I almost deleted a lot of these because, as you can tell, the photography isn’t the best.  Many of the shots are dark or off center, but I figured I’d deal with them when I got home.  I didn’t think anything strange about my fall from the stage or anything else for that matter and decided to just go back to the room to celebrate.

That night, I couldn’t sleep at all.  I’d won an EPPIE for Best Young Adult Novel, so I thought I was just too wound up to sleep soundly. I kept waking up, hearing voices and strange knocking all around the room. A high school orchestra group had checked onto the boat that day, so I didn’t think much about it at the time.  Now, after having seen the spirit orbs in the photos, I wonder if the noises weren’t the ghosts, still trying to show how annoyed they were at me for pushing down my friend, even though it was only for a skit.

 Oh, and if you think all of this is hooey, here’s an article by someone who agrees with you:  http://www.prairieghosts.com/trouble.html  Me, whether there are ghosts or aren’t, I adore the thought that there might be.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

