Skip to content

How I Get Inside My Character’s Head

September 21, 2010

Each new novel I write starts with me trying to figure out how to get in my heroine’s head. How does she see the world? What does she think about? How does she feel? Usually I create a typewritten diary for my character. But Tess, the seventeen-year-old heroine of my newest novel, didn’t want her diary typed. She wanted to scrawl in a cyanosis-blue notebook. So I scoured stores for the notebook I knew she’d have, bought some colored pencils, and let Tess slouch in the back of study hall and have at it. I shared the result on VesselCollective.com, and I thought I’d also share it here.

So what’s the oddest thing you’ve done to get into the mindset of your character? (Oh, and bonus points if you can identify the song titles and artists from some of the lyrics Tess quotes.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

